A Game of Thrones • A Song of Ice and Fire NWN2 Persistent World • Low Magic Role Play

The Queensguard

Houses of Westeros - Independents
Monday, 28 July 2008 11:40

Following the death of Khal Drogo, Daenerys Targaryen created a cadre of sworn protectors. Based on the Kingsguard, the group is called the Queensguard in deference to her gender. As Westerosi-style knights are rare in the eastern continent, being a formal knight is not required for members. The current Lord Commander is Barristan Selmy.


  • Ser Barristan Selmy, Lord Commander
  • Aggo, ko and bloodrider to Daenerys
  • Jhogo, ko and bloodrider to Daenerys
  • Rakharo, ko and bloodrider to Daenerys

The Queensguard was created by Daenerys following the death of Khal Drogo, when she declared herself queen and her surviving followers her khalasar. Jorah Mormont took an oath to serve and protect her, similar to that of the Kingsguard, thereby establishing her Queensguard. Three of Drogo's riders who remained with her became her kos and bloodriders after witnessing the birth of the dragons, Viserion, Rhaegal, and Drogon. By serving as her sworn protectors, they became members of the Queensguard.

Prior to Daenerys Targaryen's campaign against the slavers, Barristan Selmy joined her retinue under a ruse. Upon the revelation of his identity, he was nearly banished for his deception, but was instead sent on a suicide mission alongside Jorah Mormont, who had also betrayed Daenerys. After the successful conclusion of the mission, Barristan proved his loyalty by submitting his fate to Daenerys' will. By failing to submit to Daenerys, Jorah continued his betrayal and was removed from the Queensguard and banished. Barristan Selmy was readmitted to the service of the Queen and made Lord Commander of the Queensguard.