A Game of Thrones • A Song of Ice and Fire NWN2 Persistent World • Low Magic Role Play

Houses of Westeros - A Game of Thrones

The political landscape in Westeros is divided into nine regions - The North, The Riverlands, The Vale, The Iron Islands, The Westerlands, The Reach, The Crownlands, The Stormlands, and Dorne - and controlled by three groups - Major Houses, Minor Houses, and Independents.

See political map.

  • Great Houses

    The great houses of Westeros are the primary players in the political, economic, and military affairs of Westeros. There are nine great houses in the land: Arryn, Baratheon, Greyjoy, Lannister, Martell, Stark, Targaryen, Tully, and Tyrell. Each of these houses governs a specific region and has the allegiance of many lesser houses.

  • Minor Houses

    The minor houses of Westeros are the sworn bannermen of the great houses and work to support their campaigns to secure the throne. There are a large number of minor houses throughout the land with varying degrees of power and influence.

  • Independents
    There are many independent mercenaries and sell swords for hire throughout the land of Westeros. While not significant in the political landscape on their own, these groups can help tip the scales in the Game of Thrones for the right price.